hotelstreet.co.uk
Matagorda Reviews
Have you been to Matagorda? Review anything in Matagorda. Bars, Restaurants, Hotels, Places of interest etc or Matagorda itself!
Guest Reviews:
Matagorda reviews
Review date: 24 February 2009 a HotelStreet visitor from Dublin wrote:
Auld Triangle rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Auld Triangle
Review title: "Best Craic"
Travel date: July 2008
I went to Matagorda for the first time in May 2008 and as soon as the week was over, I booked to bring my husband and four children back with me.

It's clean, friendly, cheap and the best bar in Lanzarote is slap bang in the middle of it all. Dave and Marie provide great food, great entertainment and some of the best/worst jokes your likely to hear.

Heading back for a girls' only week in May this year and can't wait!

Review date: 13 August 2006 a HotelStreet visitor from Hertfordshire, UK wrote:
Matagorda rated 6 out of 10
Review Subject: Matagorda
Review title: "Resort"
Travel date: August 2006
We have just returned from a two week family holiday to Matagorda. We stayed in the Nautilus Bungalows, which were great, very clean and friendly. Lots of Spanish staying there, which has to be a good sign!

I have to say that although we enjoyed our break, I would not go to Matagorda again as it was very expensive and most of the shop keepers seemed to be put out by having to serve you and so grumpy, especially the man in the children's amusements. Having been to Lanzarote previous to this visit, I would recommend Costa Teguise over Matagorda as the people seemed friendlier and it was slightly cheaper. My husband paid 17 euro for two bucket and spades. I know, they must have seen him coming!

However, I will recommend 'Scarlett's' bar for a fun night out with Curtis the bar man. He is great. If you want a quiet holiday with the kids and money is no object, this is definitely the place to go. For me, I think mainland Spain next year.

Matagorda Restaurant reviews
Review date: 17 September 2012 a HotelStreet visitor from England wrote:
Chinese Restaurant rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: Chinese Restaurant
Review title: "Great food"
Travel date: November 2010
Can't remember the name ot this Chinese restaurant that resides next door to the Corner Cafe, just at the front of the Los Jameos Playa.

The food is very good with a price to match. The service is great and unlike other Chinese restaurants, there is no rush to move you off when you have eaten.

What a fantastic little block to eat, in our opinion for price, service and friendliness. They are top.

Review date: 14 March 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from N. Ireland wrote:
Jungla Bar Restaurant rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: Jungla Bar Restaurant
Review title: "Good Food"
Travel date: March 2010
Food excellent and reasonably priced. Carrot cake best ever
tasted, also the strawberry cheese cake. Quick service and efficient staff.

Review date: 16 December 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Dublin, Ireland wrote:
Mucky Duck II rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Mucky Duck II
Review title: "Lovely Restaurant"
Travel date: December 2008
This was the fourth time we were in Matagorda and each time, we have paid the 'Mucky Duck' a visit. Very friendly staff and gorgeous food. If you want a bit of normal grub, including mashed potato and peas, go along. You won't be disappointed.

Review date: 21 April 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Wigan, England, UK wrote:
Matagorda Grill rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Matagorda Grill
Review title: "Matagorda Grill Superb"
Travel date: April 2008
Fantastic chef making fantastic food. Reasonably priced. Never had a bad meal. Wouldn't go anywhere else.

Review date: 15 October 2007 a HotelStreet visitor from Bristol wrote:
La Parrilla Restaurant rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: La Parrilla Restaurant
Review title: "Best Resort Ever!"
Travel date: August 2007
This is by far the best restaurant in the whole of Lanzarote. I ate here nearly every evening and fell in love with the place. They serve amazing quality food and the two main waiters that run it are the loveliest people you could ever wish to meet.

Everyone must dine here if they go to Matagorda! It's located in the main shopping precinct!

Review date: 25 October 2007 a HotelStreet visitor from Manchester wrote:
O-oreo's Restuarant rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: O-oreo's Restuarant
Review title: "Best Food"
Travel date: July 2004
We ate at 'O-oreo's' every night. The food was excellent. Does anyone know if it is still in Matagorda? Thank you for any info.

Matagorda Bar reviews
Review date: 15 August 2011 a HotelStreet visitor from Sidcup, Kent wrote:
Rockola rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: Rockola
Review title: "If You Like Karaoke This Is The Bar For You "
Travel date: July 2011
Great bar, friendly atmosphere and live music/karaoke every night of the week. Billiards/snooker room and all the big matches shown on TVs. Had a brill time.

Review date: 26 March 2011 a HotelStreet visitor from Nottingham wrote:
Picasso Cafe Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Picasso Cafe Bar
Review title: "Good Honest Food"
Travel date: March 2011
The 'Picasso' cafe bar on the promenade at Matagorda serves a very good range of meals. Always well cooked and presented. The owner/chef Harry made our holiday most enjoyable with his friendly conversation and light hearted attitude. He even managed to serve Christmas pudding in mid March (excellent). My other half tells me that his Pina Coladas are the best.

Review date: 13 August 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from England wrote:
Funny Farm  and First And Last rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm and First And Last
Review title: "AbFab"
Travel date: August 2010
Well, what can I say? We visited these bars several times whilst on holiday and they were brilliant. The 'Funny Farm' caters for everybody and you couldn't ask for a better welcome than the one we got from Penny, Tony and Matt. Oh, and their assistants Sue, Roger and Del. It's all fun, fun, fun.

The 'First and Last' was another very welcoming place with some very good Irish music as well as a nice mixture of other tunes. John, Lyn and Laura were excellent hosts and we are definitely hoping to go back to Matagorda next year on the strength of the welcome we got.

Review date: 25 August 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from Chorley, Lancashire, England wrote:
Jungla Bar rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: Jungla Bar
Review title: "Cocktails Galore"
Travel date: August 2010
Just returned from Matagorda which in itself is a great resort and we were lucky enough to come across the 'Jungla' bar where we stopped for a cocktail or two! Vicky makes the best cocktails ever at a very reasonable price. Her dad (helping out at the moment) and James made us feel so welcome that we had to return quite a number of times during our two week stay. I would certainly recommend you give this bar a try!

Review date: 02 October 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from London wrote:
Funny Farm rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "Coming To Take Me Away, Aha!"
Travel date: August 2010
Well, what can I say? Just came back from an amazing holiday all thanks to 'The Funny Farm' (where I truly belong!). Amazing staff - Tony, Penni, Matty and Delboy - there was never a dull moment! I saw so many good reviews (the only bad review being about the toilets!) I thought I would have to come and see it for myself and thank goodness I did.

Thanks 'Funny Farm' for making our holiday. We will be back to see Matty's 'We buy any car' dance again!

Review date: 13 July 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from Dublin, Ireland wrote:
Funny Farm rated 5 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "Funny Farm OK"
Travel date: July 2010
Bar and entertainment are good, but the toilets are a disgrace. Cable tie is used to flush the toilet in the gents. How the health inspector lets this pass is beyond belief. Are there different European law for toilets in Lanzarote than in the rest of Europe? Premises would be closed down in the UK or Ireland.

Review date: 19 May 2011 a HotelStreet visitor from Ireland wrote:
Sportsman Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Sportsman Bar
Review title: "Very Friendly"
Travel date: July 2010
Loved the 'Sportsman Bar' in Matagorda. Very friendly and had great nights when we went there. Child friendly and they had great quiz nights.

Review date: 15 June 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from Edinburgh, Scotland wrote:
Funny Farm rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "Great Fun"
Travel date: May 2010
Great bar. Hosts made everyone welcome. Live artist every night with various theme nights so it's not the same music again and again.

Review date: 18 March 2010 a HotelStreet visitor from Ireland wrote:
The Sportsman Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: The Sportsman Bar
Review title: "Best Bar By Far"
Travel date: January 2010
The 'Sportsman Bar' has got to be the best bar in Matagorda. It has the whole package, so if you're visiting the area, I would for sure recommend this lovely bar. You will not be disappointed.

Review date: 22 May 2009 a HotelStreet visitor from Dublin wrote:
First And Last rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: First And Last
Review title: "Best Sing Song"
Travel date: May 2009
I was in the 'First And Last' in May 2008 for the first time and really enjoyed it. This time, when we went back in May 2009, it was even better. We got a warm, friendly welcome and stayed there the whole week.

John is excellent at what he does and Lynn is the most hard working barmaid in the world. John's sense of humour and ability to play anything you ask for makes this the best place for a night out in Matagorda.

Review date: 16 December 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Dublin, Ireland wrote:
Funny Farm rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "Best Bar In Lanzarote"
Travel date: December 2008
Myself and my husband were in Matagorda last week and the first night we were there, we visited the 'Funny Farm'. Tony and Penny made us very welcome. Their son, Matty and his girlfriend, Chrissie, were also very friendly.

We loved it so much we never went anywhere else for a drink the whole week we were there. I even got up to sing! We met so many nice people there. We will be back there next week for Christmas and it will be more of the same!

Review date: 31 December 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from S.W. England wrote:
Funny Farm rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "A 'Must Visit'"
Travel date: December 2008
As a lady on her own, it is not always easy to go into a bar on your own. That is, until I found the 'Funny Farm'. This family run bar - Tony, Penni, Matty and Chrissie - is both fun and friendly. They are all so very talented on stage with great voices. Also they have a really great idea of what their customers like. I shall be back in a couple of months - can't wait.

Review date: 16 October 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Croydon, UK wrote:
Funny Farm rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "Fantastic Place To Go To!"
Travel date: October 2008
What a great bar! The 'Funny Farm' is a very friendly, great fun, family entertainment venue. It is a great place to either go and relax with a few drinks and be entertained or you can become the centre of attention on the stage and with over 140,000 karaoke tracks, I didn't once hear 'Sorry, we don't have that one'. Tony, Penny, Matty and Christina are courteous and very friendly hosts and all of them are also extremely talented entertainers whether it's Tony's 'Jonny Cash' or Matty's 'Michael Bublé'. They also have other acts in on a weekly basis and karaoke every night. The list doesn't end there though.

You can watch international sporting fixtures, enter pub quizzes, play darts and access the internet using the free wi-fi. They also have a games console to keep the kids quiet and will soon be launching their own food menu.

Of the seven nights I stayed in Matagorda, I was in the 'Funny Farm' for five of those (and that's only because I didn't find the place until the third night). I would strongly reccommend a visit to anyone who goes to Matagorda and I'd even suggest its worth the five euros cab fare from Puerto del Carmen as you are sure to have a blast.

Review date: 17 October 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Ireland wrote:
G Gee's rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: G Gee's
Review title: "G Gee's Bar Is Brilliant"
Travel date: October 2008
Kevin and Trish welcome everybody to 'G Gee's'. What a great little pub. No food, just drink and conversation and great laughs and maybe a sing song at night. Will be back in 2009.

Review date: 11 October 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Hertfordshire, England wrote:
The Funny Farm rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: The Funny Farm
Review title: "The Place For Funny People"
Travel date: September 2008
Partied every night at the 'Funny Farm'. Visited in May with family (including children) and again in September with friends. Always a warm welcome from Tony, Penni and Mat. Will definitely be first port of call on next visit to Matagorda.

Review date: 11 October 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Hertfordshire, England wrote:
Barty's Irish Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Barty's Irish Bar
Review title: "Barty's Bar (John & Theresa) Always Welcoming."
Travel date: September 2008
Been to Matagorda four times now. Always make a point of visiting 'Barty's'. Food is excellent - and plenty of it. It's so good to go back to a place year after year and be welcomed by the same faces. We'll be back!

Review date: 25 March 2009 a HotelStreet visitor from Ireland wrote:
Gee Gee's Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Gee Gee's Bar
Review title: "A Hundred Thousand Welcomes"
Travel date: September 2008
The best little spot on the island four years in a row now! Can't be beaten for service quality, craic and a wonderful welcome! From prices to presentation, you won't find a happier friendlier bar on the island. Can't wait to get back for another few weeks this year!

Don't miss out. Make sure to go with your friends, family or just a romantic drink. I guarantee it will be the first of many visits!

Review date: 14 October 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Dublin wrote:
Funny Farm  rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Funny Farm
Review title: "Best Bar In Matagorda "
Travel date: August 2008
We arrived at the 'Funny Farm' to have a look around and stayed for two weeks. My husband has just lost his sight and we were very nervous about going on hoilday but Tony, Penny and the staff could not do enough for us. We are going back to see them very soon. Thank you all at the 'Funny Farm'. If you're in Matagorda, you must go in and meet them You will have a great time.

Review date: 01 November 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Northern Ireland wrote:
Fiddlers' Green rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Fiddlers' Green
Review title: "You Must Visit"
Travel date: August 2008
Stayed at the Sol Lanzarote and spent most nights at the 'Fiddlers' Green'. Enjoyed the crack. The owner was very welcoming and the bar staff were very good. I am going back to Lanzarote and can't wait for a nice cold drink at 'Fiddler's Green'.

Review date: 20 April 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Scotland wrote:
The Auld Triangle Irish Bar rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: The Auld Triangle Irish Bar
Review title: "Wonderful"
Travel date: April 2008
Staff are very friendly, helpful and the food is great. Live bands! Live football and the soaps when you want! Everyone gets a warm welcome at the 'Auld Triangle'!

Review date: 05 January 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Newcastle wrote:
The Anchor  rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: The Anchor
Review title: "Best Bar Ever"
Travel date: July 2007
This bar is fantastic for all ages with or without children. It has a really great atmosphere with great staff. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Breakfast is fab and inexpensive. The entertainment is really good as well. This bar and the staff really made our holiday and we also met some really nice people.

Review date: 22 September 2008 a HotelStreet visitor from Scotland wrote:
First And Last Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: First And Last Bar
Review title: "First And Last Bar Is Great"
Travel date: July 2007
Really good friendly pub. The staff are really helpful and friendly. Drink is cheap. Entertainment is on all the time. Spent every night in this pub for two weeks. Definitely worth trying out!

Review date: 02 May 2007 a HotelStreet visitor from England wrote:
First And Last rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: First And Last
Review title: "Real 'Irish' Bar"
Travel date: April 2007
Brilliant bar with a real 'Irish' feel to it. Walls not covered in the shamrocks, leprechauns and Celtic shirts so often seen abroad and in Britain but seldom in Ireland. Great entertainment and music (Irish, country and 60s) provided by John C Ryan. Nice friendly bar staff (Lynn & Eamon).

Review date: 24 September 2007 a HotelStreet visitor from Nuneaton, England wrote:
Barty's Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Barty's Bar
Review title: "Just Fantastic"
Travel date: April 2007
'Barty's Bar' is just fantastic. Friendly staff, great food, great entertainment. John (the boss) and Teresa (the real boss) are excellent hosts. They join in, have a laugh and really make you feel welcome.

The food they serve is at good prices and tastes great. We started one of our days in the bar at 09.30 for breakfast and never left till 02.30 the following morning. What a day!

Would suggest any one from families to couple young and old to pay them a visit.

Review date: 09 February 2007 a HotelStreet visitor from Suffolk, England wrote:
Roc Olla Bar rated 10 out of 10
Review Subject: Roc Olla Bar
Review title: "Fantastic"
Travel date: April 2006
We go here every year and spend most of our evenings here. The staff are great and fun. You can't find better entertainment on the island.

Matagorda Café reviews
Review date: 17 September 2012 a HotelStreet visitor from England wrote:
Corner Cafe rated 9 out of 10
Review Subject: Corner Cafe
Review title: "First Class Value"
Travel date: November 2010
Corner Cafe is a very clean friendly cafe with fantastic service and value.


These opinions are those of HotelStreet visitors and not of HotelStreet.
Matagorda Reviews
© Copyright 2003-2014 HotelStreet.co.uk. All rights reserved.
Hotel Reviews
HotelStreet.co.uk
Terms of Use