hotelstreet.co.uk
Guanabara Park Apartments in Puerto Rico
2 Key Apartments
76%
Very Good

Guanabara Park Apartments


Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria
Hotelstreet rating
Average Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10 29 reviews
Excellent
Very good
Average
Poor
Awful
Write a Review
Compare prices and book online


The two key Guanabara Park Apartments are situated ten minutes walk from the beach and near to the centre of Puerto Rico, on the south western coast of Gran Canaria, about 50 kilometres from the airport.... more

Pictures of the Guanabara Park Apartments:

(Click to enlarge)

Reviews

Guanabara Park rating 9 out of 10
"The New Improved Guanabara Park"
Travel date: November 2010
Review date: 14 February 2011 - A HotelStreet visitor from Rustington, England wrote:-
We have been to the Guanabara quite a few times over the last ten years and it was great to go back in November for what we think is the 15th time. The owner had splashed out on new fittings and furniture for the apartments and the pool and bar area had seen a major revamp.

It was the first we had been in November and the Guanabara was really busy. We were just about the only Brits in the place, as the place was full of Scandinavians. They were brilliant and helped us have a fantastic holiday. Leo is the new boss and certainly looked after us. He is a great host and a superb chef. All of the staff were superb too, especially Chari, Francisco and Jean-Pierre who all looked after us so well.

We loved the holiday. Great entertainment too, with a much needed change of focus. The Elvis chap has gone and been replaced by a wider variety of talent. All were brilliant and to sit out by the pool bar and witness such good entertainment every night was great.

As ever, our room was spotless and our maids were so professional. The pool was always spotlessly clean and we honestly could not fault the place.

Sure the beach is further away than it says in the brochures, but the sun always shines and it's a fantastic place to relax in. Give it a go!
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Guanabara Park Fab"
Travel date: March 2010
Review date: 22 March 2010 - A HotelStreet visitor from Manchester, England, UK wrote:-
Just back from our fifth time in less than three years in the Guanabara Park. Again, had a fab week. Paul is still entertaining and still funny, especially 'Vinyl Lionel'. Lovely to see Manola, Roberta and Tino still working at the bar and not forgetting the lovely Leo, the chef whose food is fantastic. Roll on next year. Will be back there again.
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Honeymoon"
Travel date: April 2009
Review date: 03 May 2009 - A HotelStreet visitor from Manchester, England wrote:-
We stayed at the Guanabara Park Hotel for our honeymoon for one week and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The rooms were lovely and clean, the staff were friendly and the food was absolutely gorgeous - the best pizza we've ever had!

The poolside bar stayed open all day serving drinks and snacks (burgers, chips and sandwiches, etc). There was a separate restaurant menu with loads of choice from pizza to paella. On Monday, Tuesday and Sunday night there was entertainment with Paul Santangelo (who was excellent and a really nice guy). On Monday and Tuesday there was a quiz and bingo with free drinks, it was really good and got everyone involved. On Sunday there was a barbecue followed by a reptile show and then Paul did an Elvis tribute act, which was brilliant.

The walk from the hotel to the main centre took about 20 minutes but it was a really nice walk with plenty to see along the way. We usually walked down in the morning but got a taxi back in the afternoon and then another taxi back down later to go out at night when there was nothing going on at the hotel. It sounds expensive, but the taxi only cost two euros which is nothing really.

The Guanabara Park Hotel is the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The manager, Hector, really made us feel welcome and made our honeymoon really special. There were lovely flowers in the hotel room and a bottle of wine as well. There was also a big bottle of water which probably doesn't sound like much but considering you can't drink the water in Gran Canaria, it meant we didn't have to rush out to buy water as soon as we arrived.

We give this hotel ten out of ten and we will definitely go back again as soon we can!
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Fab Holiday"
Travel date: March 2009
Review date: 08 April 2009 - A HotelStreet visitor from South Shields, England wrote:-
Our holiday at the Guanabara Park was really great. Entertainment was great, food was great and the rooms were above standard by a long way. If you are going to Puerto Rico, the Guanabara is the place to go.
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"My 40th in Gran Canaria"
Travel date: March 2009
Review date: 15 March 2009 - A HotelStreet visitor from Manchester wrote:-
Well what can I say? I would give the apartments ten out of ten. They were very clean and we got a very warm welcome from all the staff.

It takes about 20 to 30 minutes to walk into the centre. Please note that there are lots of steps and it's a lovely place to go. We had our breakfast in a bar call 'Rocky's Bar'. Breakfasts from 2.50 euros (that's for a full breakfast) and tea is 1.50. All food was ten out of ten.

If you would like a few drinks like we did, there's a bar called 'M & M's'. You can get a beer for 90 cents to 1.50 and spirits for 1.50. It's the cheapest bar in the centre.

The weather was great and we are going back in September this year for ten days. Hope you book your holidays at the Guanabara Park apartments. This is not a place to go if you cannot walk very well. Hope you enjoy.
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Guanabara Park Apartments - The Best!"
Travel date: February 2009
Review date: 09 February 2009 - A HotelStreet visitor from Chesterfield, UK wrote:-
Well, what can I say? Just come back from a week in Gran Canaria. Fair dos, the weather wasn't amazing (apparently the worst winter they have had for years - typical, eh!).

But to be honest, the apartment did it for us. When we arrived, the apartment was spotless (a little walk down a few flights of stairs but it was well worth it). They had a bottle of red wine, water and some sweets on arrival - how sweet and it was more than we bargained for. We did a Lastminute.com deal and were amazed because the Guanabara Park was definitely value for money - we had an amazing time. The staff were amazing, they cleaned it throughout day in/day out and all the cleaners were so pleasant!

I doubt I'd go back to Puerto Rico because I didn't think there was much to do but I was quite content in sitting in and reading my book at night in the room, it was that pleasant and, for the first time, the beds were actually like they are back home - comfy! All in all, we couldn't have wished to have stayed anywhere better and if I was to go back, I'd go back there without a doubt! Big up for the Guanabara Park!
Guanabara Park rating 7 out of 10
"Great"
Travel date: October 2008
Review date: 14 October 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from London, England, UK wrote:-
Room was lovely, high, with sea view and clean and spacious. Pool was clean.

No mini-market open unfortunately, so long trek to shops unless you took cab.

Noise came from people coming in late at night and new arrivals. But the Guanabara Park was overall excellent value.
Guanabara Park rating 9 out of 10
"Guanabara Park - Fab"
Travel date: September 2008
Review date: 30 October 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Milton Keynes wrote:-
Our stay here was really lovely. The apartment was really clean and the staff were really helpful especially the girl (English) on reception. The rep Steven was a great help too.

We had never been to this area before but really enjoyed our stay. We had read the reviews about the steps and walk to the apartments but did manage to do the walk every day, in fact, it just added to the stay.

One of the nicest places to go for a meal was at the Europa centre. Must go by a taxi (very cheap) and well worth it.

Quieter area up in the mountain. Would definitely recommend the Guanabara Park for the view from the pool alone.
Guanabara Park rating 7 out of 10
"Guanabara Park"
Travel date: September 2008
Review date: 15 October 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from South Wales, UK wrote:-
I took my family of seven to the Guanabara Park hotel and we had a great time. The rooms were clean and the maid came in three times a week. The pool is great and the baby pool was good. The staff were great. Had a great time,

It is up a long hill but walk down and taxi back up. I will go back soon, maybe in two years time. The entertainment was very cheesy.
Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10
"Guanabara Great!"
Travel date: September 2008
Review date: 24 September 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Dundee wrote:-
Just back yesterday from two weeks in the Guanabara Park Apartments. Absolutely loved it - didn't want to come home!

Maid service was fantastic - in every day changing towels and even did our dishes, which I didn't expect them to do. Pool area very clean and well kept. Rooms perfect - have everything you need.

Guanabara is in a great area as it's not right in the middle of the hectic resort but is ideally close so that you can go into the main resort when you want to - ten minutes walk.

Paul Santangelo, who does the night time entertainment at the apartments, is brilliant. He does a great job and gets everybody laughing - takes care to remember everyone's name and get everyone involved in the legendary knock-back quiz!

Will definately be returning to the Guanabara Park on my next trip. For everyone who complains about the stairs: you are on a volcanic island - they are hilly.
Guanabara Park rating 1 out of 10
"Wouldn't Go Back Ever Again!"
Travel date: August 2008
Review date: 16 October 2012 - A HotelStreet visitor from Glasgow wrote:-
We went in August 2008 with my mum, her friend, her friend's daughter and her three kids. The entertainment was OK but it was the same thing we got on the second week and the entertainer, who we thought was ok, we don't like now because after the first week he didn't involve us in his pathetic International Knock Back Quiz and other stuff that he did. I must say I got up one night after he had finished at 11pm and I had properly entertained the people right through to the wee small hours with singing and having a quiz night and having a great laugh. I did a far better job than him and when he got told the next day, he was extremely furious.

Apartments were nice and the staff were OK but totally isolated. Oh and by the way, if anyone is thinking of going back and decides to go to the disgusting car boot sale, it will take you half an hour to forty minutes walking not ten minutes as we were told. So all in all, I won't be going back to the Guanabara Park ever again!
Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10
"Basic But Brilliant"
Travel date: August 2008
Review date: 08 September 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Norwich, UK wrote:-
First time to Gran Canaria and our decision to stay at the Guanabara Park was a good one. The complex is located at the head of a valley and the walk down to the main areas of interest takes only ten minutes or so. The walk back however can be tiring, but with taxis very cheap and plentiful this is no real problem.

Rooms are basic but well equipped. We found the maid service to be excellent. Apartments (we had two) were cleaned almost every day with towels and bedding changed when required. No sign of cockroaches as some others have mentioned but if you are not careful with bins and waste you may have a problem - so put tops on bins and do not leave food out or unprotected.

Prices are above average at the bar with the food very basic but they have a captive audience so expect to pay a little bit more. Good thing about the location is that its quiet at night so no problem with getting the kids off to sleep. We stayed at the hottest time of the year but as the apartments are high up, most evenings had a nice breeze and there was really no need for air conditioning. Pool gets busy with the usual placing of towels on sunbeds by some at the crack of dawn - so be prepared for that if you do not venture out from the apartments.

Paul the English host/entertainer does a good job to look after the guests on quite a limited budget. What amazed me about Paul was that after meeting you just the once he can remember your name and everybody else's name for the duration of the stay - quite some feat. I don't know how he does it!

If you get the chance and your budget allows - hire a car. Mine was booked on line in the UK and only came to 80 per week inclusive of all insurances - a bargain indeed. The beaches west along the coast are very good. Our favourite was Puerto Mogan. Good bars just off of the beach, staff friendly and welcoming. At around three, when it is very hot, my family of five would get out of the sun to a bar/restaurant - 12 to 15 euros would enable you to buy excellent tapas for all of us - fish, squid, octopus, chicken wings, Canarian potatoes and cheeses etc. good value.

We thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to this island and found Guanabara Park good value for the money.
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Great Place To Go On Holiday "
Travel date: August 2008
Review date: 01 September 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Hull wrote:-
Great hotel. Basic but good. The entertainer Paul Santangelo was pure class. Quite a walk to the supermarket but only two euros in taxi. Paul Santangelo - you made our stay at the Guanabara Park fantastic.
Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10
"Guanabara Park Rocks"
Travel date: January 2008
Review date: 06 March 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Staffs, England wrote:-
It was our first visit to Gran Canaria. We were very happy with the apartment - it was lovely and clean (no roaches). The beds are too cheap and hard, that was my only gripe.

The pool and area was spotless and the cleaning ladies were non stop.

Lots of walking up and down but that was enjoyable and we worked up an appetite. We were self catering so I can't comment on the food, although snacks we had were not so good and alcoholic drinks seemed pricey.

The weather was a perfect 20+ degrees all week. We would definitely go again to the Guanabara Park.
Guanabara Park rating 7 out of 10
"Nice And Clean"
Travel date: September 2007
Review date: 01 October 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from Yorkshire, England wrote:-
Lovely views and nice clean apartments. However, the Guanabara Park is at the very top of the hillside and is a taxi ride from anywhere. No shops, bars etc nearby, nothing.

Entertainment OK but nothing through the day. Poorly stocked supermarket. Staff friendly and pool area nice. Too far out of town but only three or four euros in taxi into centre which is brilliant.

Puerto Rico is great but Guanabara is too isolated for anyone.
Guanabara Park rating 1 out of 10
"Guanabara Park"
Travel date: August 2007
Review date: 28 August 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from wales wrote:-
Very disappointed and disgusted. Wouldn't recommend it, very unfriendly staff. Wouldn't rate it as a two star.
Guanabara Park rating 9 out of 10
"Guanabara Park Apartments. Great"
Travel date: July 2007
Review date: 09 August 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Stirling, Scotland wrote:-
I wasn't sure about these apartments when we booked last minute but was pleasantly surprised by them! Yes, they are not your five star apartments but they are totally clean and were always cleaned by the maids.

The pool and pool view was lovely and the staff are really friendly (struggled a bit with the women on reception but we didn't speak Spanish so I'll let her off).

The fact the apartments were on a hill didn't make any difference to our holiday. Taxis were easy to come by (ask reception to book one) and cheap.

The resort and restaurants were great. Loved the place. So much so, guess where we are off to last minute next week? Guanabara Park!
Guanabara Park rating 6 out of 10
"Guanabara Park"
Travel date: July 2007
Review date: 27 February 2008 - A HotelStreet visitor from Newcastle wrote:-
I have been to Guanabara Park and I thought that it was a lovely place to stay. There are many bars and restaurants, also a mini market next to the apartments.

The only down side was that you has to walk down a lot of steps to get to the bars and restaurants but apart from that it was a good holiday.
Guanabara Park rating 9 out of 10
"Guanabara Is Lovely"
Travel date: July 2007
Review date: 20 July 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from Guildford, England wrote:-
To all those bad reviews of the Guanabara - OK, the rooms are basic but you get everything you would need for a self catering holiday. You would know when you book that the hotel is up a hill and it's not so bad to get taxis, it's only about three euros each way.

The entertainer was pure class - he is exactly what you would expect for this type of accommodation. If you don't want a cheesy Butlins performer, pay extra and go to a four or five star hotel, but the knock back quiz and stand up sit down bingo are so funny. Paul Santangelo, you made our holiday!

The cleaners are very satisfactory, unless you make a huge mess you don't need you sheets changed more than once a week anyway. There are one or two cockroaches, but it's a hot country.

The staff are very friendly (except the woman on reception, you have to go on a hunt to find her) and they try and help when they can. They really appreciate it when you attempt a bit of Spanish too.

Overall, a lovely place to stay and the views over the harbour are amazing, although the commercial centre is very touristy, we preferred it along the seafront.
Guanabara Park rating 5 out of 10
"Very Average At Best"
Travel date: July 2007
Review date: 16 July 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from Nottingham wrote:-
Very basic accommodation. You need to pay extra for TV, hair dryer, fans, cooker etc but then again this reflects in the price. Cleaners visited most days, although they just make the beds and don't actually change the sheets.

Previous comments on the resident entertainer are spot on - he is Butlins class and irritating. Biggest complaint is the cockroaches though - five in the apartment in the first week! Get some insect spray from the reception as it definitely helps (why don't the cleaners spray whilst they go round!?)

Accommodation aside, Puerto Rico is very nice. Amadores and Anfi beaches are superb and night life has a lot of choice. Loads of day trips available also. Shopping centres are fine, but the guys selling sunglasses/watches at night should be avoided (its a cover for what they really sell). Avoid Anfi time share reps also.

Would visit Gran Canaria again but not Guanabara Park.
Guanabara Park rating 1 out of 10
"Guanabara Park Boring"
Travel date: June 2007
Review date: 30 May 2010 - A HotelStreet visitor from Glasgow, Scotland wrote:-
I have to say that the apartments were nice and clean, the food was good and the staff were nice, including Manola, Leo and the bar staff.

The downsides to the holiday were that the apartments were very restricted. The entertainment was OK but began to get a lot boring on the second week, including the entertainer - he could not sing to save himself. He is an ok entertainer but gets boring on the second week, especially with the international 'knockback' quiz and 'stand up, sit down' bingo.

Also, I wouldn't take a trip back to the car boot sale ever again. They told us that it was only a ten minute walk but it was about a half hour walk. We had kids with us too and they didn't tell us that we would have to walk over a cliff top to get to it. It was not safe for the kids at all.

When they had the reptile show, it was good but the kids weren't allowed to run about, even when they had the music on.

I can also say that Jules Mason is a good singer but doesn't have The X Factor.

I would never recommend the Guanabara Park to anyone who wishes to visit.
Guanabara Park rating 4 out of 10
"Guanabara Park Is Poor"
Travel date: June 2007
Review date: 10 July 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from Notts, England wrote:-
Why do most of the reviews on this site say its good at Guanabara Park apartments? It's up a steep hill, no good for old or young, beer was poor and not cheap, food OK and all the talk about the resident entertainer - he loves himself and the jokes and the act is the same so after week one, keep away from the Guanabara week two because its the same rubbish. Sorry to say rubbish but he's OK for Butlins and no more and I noticed when he talked to kids he had no time for them, unless mum and dad are stood there.
Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10
"What A Voice!"
Travel date: May 2007
Review date: 12 August 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from UK wrote:-
We booked this holiday to relax and that is exactly what we did. I enjoyed the stay at the Guanabara Park apartments and Paul Santangelo the entertainer gave us so many laughs while we were there with his humour and general off the cuff moments. We plan to be back again next year!

The apartments were clean and so was the pool. The staff were very helpful too. Definitely a happy place to go! See you next year Paul, you legend!
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Go Guanabara Park! It's Ace!"
Travel date: September 2006
Review date: 06 December 2006 - A HotelStreet visitor from England wrote:-
It was amazing! Best holiday ever! The pool was brill! The entertainment was awesome! I got to be a princess! Wow - they even made bingo fun! I suggest this place as it is wicked! I'm hopefully going back there next year, fingers crossed.
Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10
"Fantastic! "
Travel date: May 2006
Review date: 12 August 2007 - A HotelStreet visitor from Suffolk wrote:-
We had a lovely stay at the Guanabara Park! The weather was lovely, the apartments were lovely (cleaned every other day) and the staff were so helpful, couldnt have asked for more!

Yes, we did have two cockroaches and I hate them, but you are in Gran Canaria, what do you expect! We told the staff, and the very next time the cleaners were in, there sat a cockroach spray and we never saw them again! For me to say that is something because I hate the things!

As for the entertainment at Guanabara - pure class! Yes, it's cheesy but Paul Santangelo (legend) is so hilarious! I spent many a night cracking up at his jokes! If you like a bit of light hearted, harmless fun, then you'll love Paul Santagngelo! He made my holiday and is so welcoming to everyone! He got to know everyone's names and made a real effort with us all! The barbecue he arranged was fantastic also and a good opportunity to get to know people around the hotel.

All in all, a fantastic holiday, in a fantastic location! Not suitable for people with walking difficulties. I'm a fit 26 year old and even I struggle with the hill!
Guanabara Park rating 8 out of 10
"Enjoyable Holiday"
Travel date: July 2005
Review date: 25 July 2005 - A HotelStreet visitor from Brighton, Engaland, UK wrote:-
Guanabara Park is old but clean with regular maid service. The staff are friendly and the entertainment in the evenings is great. The atmosphere was relaxed with all the holiday makers becoming friends and really interacting with each other. All the staff are very helpful and the kids had a great time.

There were only a few problems: if you have children that can not swim then the pool is no good as it is very deep (even I could only just about touch the bottom!). The children's pool is tiny and very shallow.

It is way up in the hills and frequent taxis home were needed, but at least they were cheap. Being up in the hills had its good points too: it is very peaceful and the views are fantastic.

The drinks are expensive at the bar which is a shame as you want to stay there for the entertainment. The on-site shop/mini market is extortionate and rarely open
Guanabara Park rating 9 out of 10
"Fantastic"
Travel date: April 2005
Review date: 13 April 2005 - A HotelStreet visitor from Dundee, Scotand wrote:-
I am recently home from a holiday in the Guanabara Park. It was fantastic. At first we thought that we were in the middle of nowhere as we didn't look down the the main resort but it was ideal for myself, husband and two year old daughter. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, especially the girl on reception, Adam our rep and Rebecca.

Apartments were clean although there were a lot of cats around. The pool was heated and always kept clean. The apartments are a short stroll downhill to the resort centre where you will find all the usual resort attractions. We will be returning to the Guanabara Park.
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"Excellent"
Travel date: January 2005
Review date: 12 February 2005 - A HotelStreet visitor from England wrote:-
It was wicked. The staff were excellent. I will be coming back shortly.
Guanabara Park rating 10 out of 10
"The Best"
Travel date: December 2004
Review date: 15 February 2005 - A HotelStreet visitor from Norway wrote:-
Hi! I stayed in Guanabara Park for one week and its the best vacation I've ever had. You had to take taxi if you didn't enjoy walking, but the taxi rates were very low. Gran Canaria is only mountains and coast, you can't expect to have everything on your doorstep. They had many evenings with great shows and the workers (bartenders, reception people) where looking great ;)They helped you whenever you needed help and it was great.

The sun came on the apartments approxomately at ten in the morning and you had the sunset on the horizon every night. Beautiful view. Like I said you can't have a view like that and live near the sea, you have to get high up in the mountains.

I'm working hard to get there whenever I can. To live at Guanabara Park was the best thing ever!
These opinions are those of HotelStreet visitors and not of HotelStreet.

Nearby Hotels

Halley
Star rating
Rating 6 out of 10
0.05 km West of Guanabara Park
Inagua
Star rating
Rating 8 out of 10
0.10 km North East of Guanabara Park
Natural Park
Star rating
Rating 8 out of 10
0.11 km South East of Guanabara Park
Aquacanis
Star rating
Rating 8 out of 10
0.19 km West of Guanabara Park
Aquasol
Star rating
0.27 km West of Guanabara Park
These are straight line distances and do not account for terrain, land or sea masses.
Guanabara Park Apartments in Puerto Rico
© Copyright 2003-2014 HotelStreet.co.uk. All rights reserved.
Hotel Reviews
HotelStreet.co.uk
Terms of Use