Turkey, Regions and Information
The Republic of Turkey is a Eurasian country spread across Anatolia in Western Asia and Thrace in the Balkan region of south eastern Europe. The two areas are divided by the Sea of Mamara, the Bosphorus and the Dardanelles, which forms the boundary between Europe and Asia. Turkey is surrounded by Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Iran to the east, Bulgaria and Greece to the west, and Iraq and Syria to the south east. The Mediterranean and Cyprus are to the south, the Aegean Sea to the west and the Black Sea to the north. The country is about 1,600 kilometres long and 800 kilometres wide, with a wide high central plateau in Anatolia becoming more mountainous in the east, with coastal plains. The weather on the Mediterranean coast is a temperate Mediterranean climate, whereas in the central area the weather is much harsher. The capital of Turkey is Ankara, although the largest city is Istanbul. The highest mountain is Mount Ararat.

The Anatolian Peninsula (also known as Asia Minor), which includes most of Turkey, is one of the oldest continually inhabited regions of the world with many historical sites of different cultures including Greek, Persian and Roman. Turkey became a Republic in 1923.

With a population of almost 75,000,000 it is regarded as a very important member of NATO, with the second largest military standing force, behind the USA. Turkey began negotiations for full membership of the EU in 2005, having been an associate member since 1963.

Tourism is a very important part of Turkey's economy, together with industry and ship building. The country is Secular with no official religion although about 99% of the population are Muslim. The official language is Turkish and the currency is the Turkish Lira.

Please select a region of Turkey from the list on the left.

Turkey, Regions and Information
© Copyright 2003-2018 All rights reserved.
Hotel Reviews
Terms of Use